Oyster River Cooperative School District Wellness Committee Meeting Monday, September 17, 2018 - 3:30pm in the SAU office Conference Room

Present: Jesse Morrell, Theresa Proia, Doris Demers, Eileen Moran, Heather Machanoff, Todd Allen, Al Howland, Emma Hewson, Sue Jackson, Cindy Douglass, Jessica Whalen and Hollie Pirtle.

Meeting Called to Order at: 3:35pm

Introductions: Since the committee is meeting for the first time this year, those present introduced themselves.

History of the Committee: Eileen began with a history of the committee, noting that the creation of the committee was initially due to the requirement that District's partaking in the School Nutrition Program have a written Student Wellness Policy in place; the Wellness Policy was written in 2006. The policy's basic focus is on student health via nutrition and physical activity.

Student Wellness Policy: Although the policy is assessed by each school every year, it has not been revised since its creation. There are various areas of the policy that are not being adhered to. Eileen noted that the policy needs buy-in and it is not promoted. Jess asked what the repercussions are if not following the policy. Jesse suggested we communicate better to get on the Board's radar. Al suggested that once revised, the Policy should be re-introduced to the Board. He also suggested that when reviewing the policy, look at the data from the assessments; make sure to pay close attention to the areas that are not working or not being implemented.

Clear Charge for the Student Wellness Committee: Todd spoke about the need to create a clear charge for this committee. He noted that this committee would be much more successful if there were more structure focusing on only a few major goals. The two goals selected are: Policy Review – Ensure compliance, make sure it is followed at building level. Eileen, Doris, Katherine Moore, Kim Wolph, and Todd. Data Review – Review data from the Bobcat Survey and Youth Risk Behavior surveys. Reviewing the non-mental health components of the Youth Risk Behavior Survey are Hollie and Emma.

Spin Off Committee – Todd described a concept for a new committee that would focus on staff wellness and benefit cost containment. He went on to explain how he envisions this working. Some members of this group would remain working on student wellness and some may move over to what we might refer to as the Cost Containment Committee (CCC) (a new name may be in the works). Theresa explained that the idea for this committee came from seeing it in action at Merrimack School District. Merrimack has had a CCC for 12 years now. We plan on attending Merrimack's CCC as a group in October to get a feel for how it works. Essentially, the CCC would focus on cost containment by utilizing the preventative/cost savings programs available to us through HealthTrust, Life Resources, and the Smart Shopper program.

Committee Members Choose their Preference: The committee members chose which direction they preferred to participate:

Cost Containment: Al Howland, Jess Whalen, Susan Jackson, Cindy Douglass, Theresa Proia, James Morse and Todd Allen. **Student Wellness:** Eileen Moran, Doris Demers, Katherine Moore, Kim Wolph, Hollie Pirtle, Emma Hewson, and Todd Allen.

- Policy Review: Eileen Moran, Doris Demers, Katherine Moore, Kim Wolph, Jesse Morrell, Serena Kow, & Todd Allen.
- Data Review: Hollie Pirtle, Emma Hewson, and Todd Allen.

Mental Health Committee: Heather Machanoff will remain as the source for mental health information.

Wrap Up: Moving forward the Student Wellness Committee, the Cost Containment Committee and the Mental Health Committee will all be separate committees that come together every-other month to review their progress and to define their direction.

Meeting Schedule for All: Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at 3:45pm in the SAU Conference Room.

- Cost Containment Meeting: Thursday, October 11, 2018 at 3:30pm in the SAU Conference Room.
- Policy Review: Wednesday, October 3, 2018 at 3:45pm at the Middle School.
- Data Review: TBD

Meeting Adjourned: 5:00pm

Minutes Respectfully Submitted by: Theresa Proia